The 2013 JLPT will be administered on Sunday, December 1, 2013!

JLPT 2013

JLPT is the acronym for Japanese Language Proficiency Test (日本語能力試験 nihongo nōryoku shiken). JLPT is a standardized test that evaulate and certify Japanese Language proficiency for non-native Japanese speakers.  It is held twice a year in East Asia and once a year in other regions.

JLPT has five different levels with JLPT Level 5 being the most basic and JLPT Level 1 being the most advnaced.  Level N3 is new level bridging the gap between Level 2 and Level 3.

JLPT Level Kanji Vocabulary Listening Level Hours of Study
JLPT Level 5 ~100 ~800 Beginner 150
JLPT Level 4 ~300 ~1,500 Advanced Beginner 300
JLPT Level N3 (NEW) ~500 ~3,000 Beginner Intermediate 450
JLPT Level N2 ~1,000 ~6,000 Intermediate 600
JLPT Level N1 ~2,000 ~10,000 Advanced 900

JLPT Test can be taken at 68 countries!

Asia: Korea, China, Mongolia, Taiwan, Indonesia, Cambodia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Brunei, Vietnam, Malaysia, Myanmar, Laos, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Pakisatan, Bangladesh, Maldives, Australia, New Zealand.

North America: CanadaUSA

South America: Mexico, Argentina, Ecuador, Colombia, Chile, Paraguay, Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, Bolivia

Western Europe: Ireland, Italy, UK, Austria, Greece, Switzerland, Spain, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Portugal

Eastern Europe: Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgys, Serbia, Czech, Hungary, Bulgaria, Poland, Romania, Russia

Middle East: Israel, Iran, Turkey, Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, Kenya